Yuletide Wish

I love old folk and fairy tales and like to retell them in my own way. Recently I had a go at narrating one and here is the result. Much more practice needed I think but I hope you enjoy the story.

A Yuletide Wish

 

In a far away place,

A long time ago,

On a Yuletide night

Where deep lay the snow,

There lived an old man

With his elderly wife,

They were kindly people

Who took enjoyment from life.

They had few regrets,

But one wish made them sad,

They had never been blessed

With a lass or a lad.

And on this particular Yule

It seemed to bother them more,

This grief that they held;

Til a knock on the door,

Startled they answered

And there a girl stood,

Pale as the snow

And wearing no hood.

“Come,” she said smiling

Her voice like a song,

“Come into the snow,

Come along, come along.”

She skipped and she twirled

Like a snowflake free,

And the couple went out

To join in her glee.

They danced and they sang

And the stars shined bright,

But the couple grew cold

And went in from the night.

“Come little one,”

They called to the child

“Come in from the cold,

For the weather grows wild.”

“I cannot,” said the girl

“This is where I belong,

Where the snow falls down

And the wind blows strong.”

But the couple protested

And brought her in nonetheless,

Stood her near the fire

To dry off her dress.

And the girl she grew weak,

Her eyes they did plead

“I’m a spirit of snow,

In here I can’t breathe.”

The old couple smiled sadly

They saw the truth in her eyes

So they opened the door

And said their goodbyes.

The little girl she did vow

“Next year I’ll come

But as soon as I’m grown up

Then that’s the last one”

The child never grew up

So she came every Yule

And when the old couple passed

Their wish had come true.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started